Curvy Repost / EDITOR'S LOUNGE / WISE CURVES

Wellness Repost: 23 Truths About Breast Cancer That Survivors Want You to Know

When my mother was diagnosed with Cancer many years ago I was devastated and petrified, not really knowing how to talk to her about it. Since then I have made it a point to look at this horrible disease from the patient’s perspective. Here is a repost of a story from Yahoo Health listing the 25 truths Survivors want us to know.

Source: 23 Truths About Breast Cancer That Survivors Want You to Know

4. Cancer is just part of a person’s story. “While I was undergoing treatment, I constantly felt people were treating me like I was dying,” says Powers. “I want to be treated like me, not like my diagnosis; empathy is lovely, but pity is unnecessary. Whether cancer is a bump in the road, or ultimately the end of it, it’s just part of the story. Women, and men, going through breast cancer are not just patients. We are not victims. We are daughters, and mothers, and teachers, and doctors. People who stand in line with you at the grocery store, still get mad about stupid things like missing the subway, and want to talk about mundane stuff like the new season of Scandal.”

 

Leave a Reply

