EDITOR'S LOUNGE / SWAGGERETTE / WISE CURVES

The Top Stories Of 2013 – #4 of 10

#4 – Controversy – Curvy Lingerie vs Fit Mom

Chrystal Bougon image via http://www.curvygirlinc.com    Maria Kang Image via Facebook

I’ll be honest, when I first heard about this story I was too angry to write about it. While I’m still not all that calm about it now, I had to include this in my year-end list.

Excerpt from Eliza Murphy for ABC News.com (click onto the link for full story)

http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/lifestyle/2013/10/fit-mom-defends-controversial-photo-i-never-called-you-fat/

“What you interpret is not MY fault. It’s Yours. The first step in owning your life, your body and your destiny is to OWN the thoughts that come out of your own head. I didn’t create them. You created them. So if you want to continue ‘hating’ this image, get used to hating many other things for the rest of your life. You can either blame, complain or obtain a new level of thought by challenging the negative words that come out of your own brain.” – Maria Kang, Facebook

The even bigger story is that Chrystal and Maria have actually met one another. She visited the Curvy Girl store and the two spoke. (Click onto the link below to read full post)

http://curvygirlinc.com/adding-to-the-negativity-and-anger-is-not-my-style/

cb-and-maria-dec-19-2013-150x150“Yes, we agree to RESPECTFULLY disagree with each other. But, that doesn’t mean we can’t both be bigger then the sensationalism that was our lives for the past month and shake hands, talk, get to know each other in person and support each other. If you know me at all, you know I have three passions. I LOVE helping people to have GREAT sex, I LOVE to help women feel sexy and beautiful and I LOVE supporting other women business owners.”  – Chrystal Bougon, Curvy Girl Inc.

I have healers and trainers as clients and I have never ever heard any of them shame their clients into being more healthy. Intent is what matters. It took a tremendous degree of courage for those women to take the pictures and even more to post them. Whether you agree with their weight or not, teaching women to have pride in who they are in the here and now will support them in putting themselves first and inspiring them to pursue better health in their mind, body and hearts.

Leave a Reply

