AMANKEDA, THE TRANSFORMER / CONTRIBUTORS / CUISINE / Uncategorized / WISE CURVES

Curvy Fit: The Power Of Cinnamon

IMG_1648My mentor and CurvySwagger wellness contributor Amankeda (www.triplejewel.com) has always urged me to improve my #diet and use natural remedies to heal. I’ll admit it, I’m a challenging student, but I’m getting better and determined to change my ways.

A few months back she told me about her recipe for #Cinnamon #Tea and the excellent health benefits it has. Cinnamon can rev up your #metabolism and curb your craving for sweets. She is a pretty strict #vegan, so her body leaned out even more drinking the tea,which would be expected considering how clean her diet is. I, on the other hand love the fact that my #cravings for #sweets are diminishing, I have more energy even with my long hours and my water intake has increased.

(http://www.livestrong.com/benefits-of-cinnamon/)  According to http://www.LiveStrong.com the additional benefits of Cinnamon include:

Helps Lower Blood Sugar + Reduce bad cholesterol

Helps Boost The Immune System

The Aroma Boosts Brain Activity

Aids in Digestion

There are several versions of cinnamon tea and water online but here are (4) four options I’ve discovered including Amankeda’s. All these recipes use cinnamon sticks and NOT powder:

1. AMANKEDA’S  – CINNAMON TEA

1 Cinnamon Stick per 8 oz of water (I use a gallon pitcher = 16 cups/16 sticks)

*Bring water to a boil, drop the cinnamon stick(s) in for (1) one minute, turn off heat

Steep for 2 minutes

Pour in cup/pitcher

Add water according to taste (I drink the stronger version) Put in Fridge

**Minimum (1) One cup per day to experience the benefits.

2. LIVESTRONG.COM – CUP OF CINNAMON TEA

Crush a cinnamon stick at the bottom of a cup and pour boiling water over it. Steep tea for 10-15 minutes.th-5

Apple #33. ANDIE OF WWW.MAYBEIWILL.COM – CINNAMON + APPLE WATER

Makes one big pitcher ( I used a Gallon Pitcher), re-fill water 3-4 times before replacing apples and cinnamon… I did this every couple days

1 Apple thinly slice (Whatever your favorite is) — I used Fuji ApplesDelicious!!!
1 Cinnamon Stick

Drop apple slices in the bottom of the pitcher (save a few to drop in your glass later) and then the cinnamon stick, cover with ice about 1/2 way through then with water. Place in the fridge for 10 minutes before serving.

4. KATHLEEN A., BLOGGER (IN RESPONSE TO ANDIE’S WATER)

*get a refillable water bottle.
-thinly slice 2-3 pieces of circular ginger root pieces.
-thinly and narrowly slice apples in ( I use pink ladies they’re so sweet!)
-drop in half a cinnamon stick
-fill with water and let steep over night and it’s ready!
( also you can refill this plenty of times!! Until the apples are bad)
When the water is a quarter left I fill it back up.
When you take your nasty apples out or when they first start turning darker you can eat them or throw away (they are delicious!) & just replace apples! Leave cinnamon in! )

The water versions will have a more subtle taste while the teas are sweeter. *I added green apples to Amankeda’s tea recipe and I’m hooked. Be careful that you do not boil the apples because this will create a large amount of natural sugar added to the drink.

Let me know how you like it and how it’s benefitting you. Be well.

Leave a Reply

